14. 06. 2022.

European Commission

The European Commission is responsible for proposing legislation, implementing decisions, upholding the EU treaties and driving forward the EU debate on all European policymaking aspects.

The European Commission was established on the 16 January 1958, and develops and translates into policies and initiatives the strategy of the European Union.

The EU institutional ecosystem also includes the European Council, responsible for setting the direction through the heads of state, and two legislative branches: the Council of the European Union and the 27 member states, and the directly-elected European Parliament – the only institution with the power to propose legislation. The Commission’s work is steered by a College of Commissioners, and led by its President. The Commissioners work on specific policy priorities that are set out by the Commission President.

There are six Commission priorities for the period of 2019 – 2024, with numerous actions being launched and developed to achieve progress across the policy lines:

  • A European Green Deal
  • An economy that works for people
  • A Europe fit for the digital age
  • Promoting our European way of life
  • A stronger Europe in the world
  • A new push for European democracy

A Europe Fit for the Digital Age, is the European Commission’s strategy and priority when it comes to digital technology. The European Digital Strategy’s goal aims to support citizens and businesses in making the most out of the digital transformation, whilst achieving a climate-neutral Europe by 2050. The European Commission is determined to make the next 10 years of Europe’s future a truly European Digital Decade, with strengthened national sovereignty and European standards of excellency – with a clear focus on data, technology, and infrastructure.